Enter the Dragon.. err.. Hakko 808

Have you ever used a tool for a long time and been like, “Man, this tool sucks.  I need to bite the bullet and get such-and-such instead.  I wonder if it’s really worth the money.”  Well, if you ever find yourself doing any sort of PCB work for any length of time you’re going to run into the desoldering dilemma.

Do I use this crappy copper braid?  No, that sucks and you need like twelve hands to use it properly.

Do I use this suction bulb thingy?  Oh god that’s worse, maybe if you need to clear snot out of your nose you can use that, but for solder, forget it.

How about this soldapult thing, it’s like an upgraded snot sucker.  It works okay.. no wait.. it doesn’t.  It sucks (and not in a good way) and here’s why…

Enter the Hakko 808.. it’s like unicorns and puppy dogs started a damn parade in my garage.  Rainbows came out and a jolly leprechaun did a jig over by the hot water heater.  If you must desolder, just go get one.  Don’t think, just go get it.

My first 9-pin header pin removal took all of 2 minutes and 19 seconds, and that’s using this thing for the very first time.  I’m in awe.  Not just in the speed of this thing but how clean those pads look afterward.. ridiculous.  I have seen the light.  Also, the new Hakko 888 soldering iron is the tits as well.

Anyway, so the driver board header pins and GI connector are done (obviously).  Need to pull the mpu and work on that next.  Pulled off all the ramps on Whirlwind last night.  Have a Getaway and a Monopoly coming later this week so I gotta get this Comet OUT of the garage.  Hopefully finish it up tomorrow night.

Some Comet pics, more can be found here.

And some Whirlwind pics, more found here.

Leave a comment